

## IIT Bhubaneswar To Celebrate 9th Annual Convocation Via Live Hybrid Mode

<u>EducationBhubaneswarCampus</u>





## Share

Bhubaneswar: Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bhubaneswar is set to hold its 9th Annual Convocation via live hybrid mode on December 4.

The live hybrid mode is an innovative method which will give students the option to participate in the event either by gracing it physically or joining it online in view of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Union Minister of Education Dr Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank' will be gracing the occasion as Chief Guest and deliver his address online.

Minister of State for Education Sanjay Dhotre will be the Guest of Honour and Dr Rajendra Prasad Singh, Chairman of Board of Governors (BoG), IIT Bhubaneswar will be presiding over the programme.

Prof R.V. Raja Kumar, Director, IIT Bhubaneswar will present the report and present degrees to the students.

"The convocation is a celebration of the graduation of students who earned their degrees with important learning during their peak youth hood and the institute is keen on their live participation. Therefore, the institute has come up with an innovative method of holding the convocation where a student can participate with physical presence or by online in view of the pandemic situation, and adopted it. A large percentage of students are expected to join the convocation. We are very happy that Hon'ble Minister of Education and the Minister of State have consented to grace the occasion and to address the graduating students," said Prof. Raja Kumar.

The institute will be conferring degrees on 446 students including 35 Ph.D, 141 M. Tech, 70 M.Sc and 200 B.Tech students.

The President of India Gold Medal will be awarded to Aditya Pal of the Computer Science and Engineering for his outstanding performance in academics.

The Director's Gold Medal will be awarded to Sanket Dey Chowdhury of the School of Infrastructure for best academic performance among M.Tech students.

The Director's Gold Medal will also be awarded to Souvick Chakraborty of Physics School of Basic Sciences for best academic performance among M.Sc students.

For best academic performance in the respective Schools, Institute Silver Medals will be awarded to Aditya Pal, Arvind T.K.R, Abhishek Mishra, Aman Singhal, Manapuram Jyothi Venkata Sai Aditya and Shubhajit Mondal among the outgoing batch of B.Tech students.

For best academic performance in the respective Schools, the Institute Silver Medals will be awarded to Sanket Dey Chowdhury, Dusane Ajinkya Rajendra, Priyabrata Das, Anoop Kumar Yadav, Gaurab Bhattacharya, Khadke Leena Sanjay and Debjit Rana among outgoing batch of M.Tech students.

For best academic performance in the respective Schools, the Institute Silver Medals will be awarded to Souvick Chakraborty, Adhaina Susan James, Debabrota Mondal, Ms. Sudeshna Goswami and Arkaprava Ray among M.Sc students.

The Education Minister will be inaugurating the Student Activity Center (SAC), Play Court and the building of the School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Management, in the presence of the Minister of State, Chairman, Board of Governors, Director, faculty members and students.

The Institute currently has 2490 students (B.Tech 1174, B.Tech & M.Tech Dual Degree 418, M.Tech 388, M.Sc 178, Ph.D 332) and 143 full-time faculty members besides a number of adjunct faculty.

The institute has 7 academic schools and offers B.Tech, M.Tech, Dual Degree (B.Tech & M.Tech) and M.Sc. programmes, respectively.

https://odishabytes.com/iit-bhubaneswar-to-celebrate-9th-annual-convocation-via-live-hybrid-mode/